## **ILLINOIS SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY COALITION** from idea to impact

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT: Anne Rzepecki arzepecki@istcoalition.org

## Illinois Science & Technology Coalition Announces 2024 List of Researchers to Know

31 Researchers From Across Illinois Named to the Prestigious List

**May 28, 2024 – (CHICAGO, IL) –** The Illinois Science & Technology Coalition (ISTC) today announced its annual list of *Researchers to Know* from universities across Illinois. The annual list highlights the groundbreaking research being done on Illinois' campuses, and provides a detailed look at some of the researchers that are driving innovation in the state.

"We are thrilled to share this year's 'Researchers to Know' list, which highlights the remarkable talent and groundbreaking work of Illinois' academic scientific community. These individuals exemplify the innovation and dedication that drive our state's leadership in science and technology," said Colleen D. Egan, CEO of ISTC. "By recognizing their contributions, we aim to inspire collaboration, fuel further advancements, and underscore the critical role that research plays in addressing the world's most pressing challenges. Congratulations to all the researchers who made this year's list – your work not only enriches our understanding but also paves the way for a brighter, more innovative future."

The 2024 Researchers to Know represent 10 institutions of higher education leading innovation in Illinois. This year's group of researchers includes those working to advance biotechnology, improve sustainability practices through design and engineering; explore mental health challenges and improve solution equity; use advanced data, AI, and quantum computing to pioneer analytics; and push the boundaries of physics and material science.

-more-

The 2024 Researchers to Know are as follows:

- Michelle Stuhlmacher, DePaul University
- Heather Quinn, DePaul University
- Jacob Furst, DePaul University
- Weslynne Ashton, Illinois Institute of Technology
- Ruth Schmidt, Illinois Institute of Technology
- Philip R. Troyk, Illinois Institute of Technology
- Igor Cialenco, Illinois Institute of Technology
- Pranshoo Solanki, Illinois State University
- Wolfgang Stein, Illinois State University
- Isaac Chang, Illinois State University
- Jennifer Koop, Northern Illinois University
- Andreas Glatz, Northern Illinois University
- Jonathan Rivnay, Northwestern University
- Jaehyuk Choi, Northwestern University
- Yevgenia Kozorovitskiy, Northwestern University
- Mercouri Kanatzidis, Northwestern University
- Neelam Sharma-Walia, Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science
- Robert A. Marr, Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science
- Brian A. Feinstein, Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science
- Scott Hamilton-Brehm, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
- Jie Dong, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
- Fred Chong, University of Chicago
- Olufunmilayo I. Olopade, University of Chicago
- Jeff Hubbell, University of Chicago
- Deepak Shukla, University of Illinois Chicago
- Ramille Shah, University of Illinois Chicago
- Alex Leow, University of Illinois Chicago
- Viktor Gruev, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
- Erik Nelson, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
- Laura Rice, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
- Ying Diao, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

## View bios for all researchers here.

The Illinois Science & Technology Coalition is a member-driven non-profit, nonpartisan organization that expands economic opportunity in the state through support for innovation and entrepreneurship. ISTC serves as a convener, catalyst, and champion for Illinois' innovation economy, delivering measurable impact and positioning the state as a national innovation leader. ISTC's Education team focuses on STEM education, connecting companies with classrooms to better prepare the next generation of problem solvers. For more information, visit <u>ISTCoalition.org</u>.