## **ILLINOIS SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY COALITION** from idea to impact

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT: Anne Rzepecki arzepecki@istcoalition.org

## Illinois Science & Technology Coalition Announces 2022 List of Researchers to Know

24 Researchers From Across Illinois Named to the Annual Honor

**November 21, 2022 – (CHICAGO, IL) –** The Illinois Science & Technology Coalition (ISTC) today announced its fifth annual list of *Researchers to Know* from universities across Illinois. The annual list highlights the groundbreaking research being done on Illinois' campuses, and provides a detailed look at some of the researchers that are driving innovation in the state.

"In this celebratory 5th year of ISTC's 'Researchers to Know' we are showcasing some of the top faculty from our universities across the state. The idea is to bring attention to some of the groundbreaking research taking place at our universities and showcase faculty that have a timely milestone or accomplishment. Each of the researchers chosen for this honor has demonstrated outstanding achievement in their research field," said Colleen D. Egan, CEO of ISTC.

The 2022 Researchers to Know represent 10 institutions of higher education leading innovation in Illinois. This year's group of researchers includes those working to protect the environment and mitigate climate change; advancing energy & sustainability; using data and pioneering analytics; and advancing medical technology..

The 2022 Researchers to Know are as follows:

- Seth Darling, Argonne National Laboratory
- Joan M. Brehm, Illinois State University
- Marcelo H. Garcia, University of Illinois Urbana Champaign
- Mark Potosnak, DePaul University

- Jalene LaMontagne, DePaul University
- John Kostelnick, Illinois State University
- Sumanta Acharya, Illinois Institute of Technology
- Tao Li, Northern Illinois University
- Shirley Meng, University of Chicago
- Filipo Sharevski, DePaul University
- Sonja Petrovic, Illinois Institute of Technology
- Carlo U. Segre, Illinois Institute of Technology
- Jian Cao, Northwestern University
- Omar K. Farha, Northwestern University
- Nadya Mason, University of Illinois Urbana Champaign
- Kaiyu Guan, University of Illinois Urbana Champaign
- Melani Duffrin, Northern Illinois University
- Noah Rosenblatt, Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science
- Joanna Dabrowska, Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science
- Bryan Dickinson, University of Chicago
- Lahiru Jayakody, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
- Jun-Hyun Kim, Illinois State University
- Guillermo A. Ameer, Northwestern University
- Aaron Esser-Kahn, University of Chicago

<u>View bios for all researchers here</u>. For more information, <u>subscribe here</u> and follow us <u>@ISTCoalition</u>.

The Illinois Science & Technology Coalition is a member-driven non-profit, nonpartisan organization that expands economic opportunity in the state through support for innovation and entrepreneurship. ISTC serves as a convener, catalyst, and champion for Illinois' innovation economy, delivering measurable impact and positioning the state as a national innovation leader. ISTC's Education team focuses on STEM education, connecting companies with classrooms to better prepare the next generation of problem solvers. For more information, visit ISTCoalition.org.

###